Emily Nielsen: Published Photographer

Some titles you never really expect to gain. “Published photographer” is one of them, at least in my case. Okay, yes, I HAVE been published many times through the O’Colly, and then again in other college newspapers like the OU Daily, the Kansan and the Arizona Daily Wildcat. And that in itself has been overwhelming and crazy enough. But now I’ve actually had photos published in a book, an actual book with an ISBN number and everything.

Ride to Victory is a 168-page retrospective of the 2011 OSU football season, everything from the opening game against Washington State to Bedlam to the Fiesta Bowl. And all bias aside, it’s a really well-done book that anyone who’s enjoyed OSU football this season would want to have. Copies are available here.

When I picked up a camera for the first time it was all about fun. And I’m happy to say that it’s remained that way. Filling out an application for the O’Colly two years ago was one of the best decisions I’ve made in college. It’s given me incredible opportunities I never would have found anywhere else. Yes, it’s let me call myself a published photographer. But there are so many other things I’ve gotten out of working for there. It’s taught me how to work on deadline, how to interact with ALL components of a newsroom, from reporters to designers to the editor-in-chief. I’ve learned more about using a camera working as a photojournalist than I think I ever would have if I’d continued on shooting photos for fun for the rest of my life. It’s taught me how to confidently interact with a huge variety of people both on and off campus, from college athletes to community business leaders to motorcycle freedom riders (yes, really). I might not want to be a photojournalist “when I grow up,” but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the amazing experiences that I’ve had while being involved at the O’Colly. And I can’t wait to see what the next year and a half has in store for me.

Comment

