New York Days Four and Five: 1/06 & 1/07

As you may have noticed, I’ve been kind of dragging my feet about posting this last wrap-up of my trip to New York City. I think my thought process was, ‘if it’s not on my blog, that means it’s not over.’

Unfortunately that theory has since been disproved, so here’s a post about my final two days in New York.

On Friday we woke up pretty early, because we needed to make it uptown to a recording of Anderson Copper’s talk show that I’d snagged free tickets for a few weeks before our trip. And let me say, it was a BLAST. There wasn’t even anyone famous on as a guest, but we ended up sitting on the first and second rows and had an awesome time.

Anderson was so funny in person, and he answered questions from the audience between the breaks. There were a weird amount of hair-related questions asked, and when someone asked if he’d ever dyed it he replied, “I thought about it once and I asked my barber about it, but I’m not really one to sit in a salon for an hour with tin foil in my hair reading old issues of Rosie magazine.”

Also, the show’s producer totally looks like Hugh Jackman.

Here are some promo videos from the episode we were on:

And after watching the full episode, this was my 15th-of-a-second of fame. (Jess is sitting next to me in red)

After we got out of the ANDERSON taping we took the train back to the hotel and booked our (free) tickets to the 9/11 memorial. Ground Zero has more security than Ft. Knox, understandably of course. The memorial itself was pretty, but I actually am more impressed by the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial than I was by the one in New York. Part of that may have been that the memorial museum isn’t open yet, though. I still got pretty choked up a couple of times. One thing I will never understand, however, is people who take pictures of themselves at memorial sites with big grins on their faces. We saw this several times. I think there are more appropriate times for a photo-op. To each their own, I suppose. Here are some shots I got at the memorial.

After we left the memorial we walked back to the subway to take a train back across town to the MOMA, which was something on my “to-see” list from day one of planning the trip. It was also a free admission night, which was even better (though it was incredibly crowded because of that). And speaking of crowded, that train ride was the first actual subway experience I think we had. I say that, because up until this point we’d only been in cars that held a comfortable number of people. On this trip, however, it was packed, because it was right around 5 and people were getting off work. So we got to endure 10 stops of being pressed up against our fellow subway passengers. New York City livin’.

The MOMA was incredible. I like it because it’s actually feasible to see the entire collection if you devote a couple of hours to it. We saw a lot of amazing work, and some typical “modern” art, like wads of red paper crumpled up and spread throughout the museum.

The MOMA is home to some of the most famous paintings in the world, including works by Dali, Picasso and of course Van Gogh’s Starry Night (SWOON).

We left the MOMA and realized just how exhausted we were from all the walking we’d done throughout the day. We decided to go back to Times Square one last time to “say goodbye.”

From Times Square we walked back down to the Al Hirschfeld theater, partially because we had some friends waiting outside the stage door for Darren (which we were NOT interested in experiencing again) and partially because we just wanted to see it one more time before we left.

By that time we were starving as well as exhausted, so we decided to find somewhere to have dinner where we could sit down and relax to eat. We ended up in an Irish Pub that isn’t too memorable, but I do know that it was nice to end things with a sit-down meal with the four of us.

After dinner we decided to go back to the hotel for the rest of the night to have some time to just sit around and have fun together for the rest of the night.

The next morning we woke up an hour later than we’d intended, so it was a mad-dash to finish packing everything and arrange transportation to the airport and be out of our room by check-out time. We made it though, and got one last look at the city on our shuttle ride to Newark.

We got our boarding passes and made it through security with just enough time to grab something to eat together before Toni’s flight started boarding. It really sucked having to say goodbye to everyone for the foreseeable future, but the good thing is we’re still able to communicate every day online, which is how we started being friends in the first place.

We  all joked about having post-NY depression, and I STILL feel a little depressed sometimes, but I also feel incredibly lucky to have gotten to go in the first place, especially with such amazing people.

Comment

