New York Day Three: 1/05

Okay, I’m not going to pretend we didn’t have a late start on Wednesday. And by “late start” I mean we didn’t even make it out of the hotel room until noon.

First up on the itinerary was Central Park, which was actually pretty lovely despite the cold weather (though each day we were in New York it got warmer, so that was nice).  As soon as we walked in the park a couple of guys walked past us and we overheard one of them say “I wish I could transform into a raptor at will.” Me too man, me too.

We just kind of wound our way through the paths, and took in the view of the massive buildings that surround a pretty gorgeous stretch of nature. At one point we came across a gay couple taking wedding or engagement photos, and I got a little emotional watching it. Good on New York!

After a while we found our way to the MET. We only had about an hour to spend inside since we’d had a late start and we needed to be back at the hotel by around 5 to get ready for How to Succeed later that night, but we got the whirlwind tour that included a lot of European paintings (I’m not going to lie, a lot of our motivation going through that exhibit was finding paintings that had the best facial expressions.)

We were winding our way toward the modern art wing when I spotted Georges Seurat’s A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte and dragged everyone into the room to look at it. Thank GOD we stopped, because that room and the next were filled with works by Van Gogh, who’s basically the artistic love of my life. Seeing his work in person was incredibly moving, and just makes me respect his work even more. The texture on his paintings is unbelievable.

We also came across some really interesting stuff in the modern art wing.

After we left the MET we jumped back on the subway and grabbed a late lunch/early dinner at a Chinese restaurant and then went back to the hotel to get ready.

We left around 6 to walk to the theatre, and before we knew it we were inside and seated. Seated, may I add, two rows behind Darren’s parents, who had attended all three shows before ours and I’m sure will attend as many as humanly possible. They were so adorable and supportive and just so proud of their son, and it was completely wonderful to watch them grin and make conversation with the people seated around them.

And then the show started. And Darren was phenomenal. He’d only had two weeks to rehearse before the show opened, but there wasn’t any indication of that at all. I think I had a gigantic, stupid grin on my face for the full 3 hours. The show itself was fantastic. I was somewhat familiar with it, because I’d been listening to the soundtrack with Daniel Radcliffe for several months, but it was so FUNNY and the choreography was jaw-dropping, as well as the sets. And all of the other actors were so, so SO talented. Beau Bridges was new to the cast as well, and he did have a few dropped lines, but nothing that really distracted me from the performance. I’m going to stop rambling now and move on, but honestly I can’t recommend this show highly enough.

                After the bows we headed outside to wait outside the stage door, which was MADNESS. There were throngs of people, but somehow Jess and I ended up about 4 rows from the front of the mob on the west side of the gates holding people back. The group remained pretty calm while Beau Bridges and other cast members filtered out, and one of the girls in front of me offered to take my poster and get Beau to sign it for me, which was incredibly sweet.

However, as soon as Darren came out about an hour after the show ended it was predictable madness. The girl in front of me was really rude and screamed in my face to “back off” because I was “pushing her.” As if 20 rows of people behind me weren’t doing the same to me. So she pretty much ruined the experience for me. I think the closest glimpse I got at Darren himself was about an inch of his head, along with what I could see through the viewfinders of the cameras and cellphones the people in front of me were holding up. I did hear a girl in the front row tell him she’d come from Germany though, and like the enormous dork he is Darren replied, “Das ist cool!” I did actually manage to get my poster signed though, because another girl on the front row offered to take it and somehow managed to wedge it in there in front of him. While I am SO appreciative of her, and Darren for coming out and interacting with fans as best he can, I have to say the girl who screamed at me and the general craziness of the experience pretty much ruined the whole waiting-at-the-stage door thing for me. If I had it to do over again, I’d probably just stand across the street to watch him come out and interact with fans.

After all of the chaos ended and we’d found everyone in our group again we headed back to the hotel, talking about our favorite parts of the show and basically babbling insanely at one another. We got in and immediately decided ordering a pizza was definitely called for. We just spend time together talking and hanging out and eating pizza and it was a really good way to end such a hectic day.

3 comments
  1. Jan Deatherage said:

    Em, really enjoying reading about your trip. New York is one of our favorite places to go. We even “ran away” for Christmas a few years back and spent it in NYK. Talk about beautiful! In all times we have gone we have never once been to ground zero. Just can’t make ourselves do it. Love, Aunt Jan

  2. Emily and friends; had to laugh. Wonderful to have your own talented photographer with you. And oh, in each picture in which you all appeared, you were thinner and thinner for ALL the walking you were doing! I hope you each are rested and back at life and planning your next big reunion. Love, Grandmother. Hugs around.

  3. Gayle May said:

    How wonderful you could make this great trip with friends who were fantastic to be with! My, my for the memories you made on this trip. Here’s hoping you have many, many more in the years to come! (hint…hint…can I come along next time?) This is really interesting, Emily….love – Grandma M.

Comment

