The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

I’ve spent the last 9 months anxiously anticipating the release of David Fincher’s adaptation of “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.” That’s 9 months of my life spent scouring over set photos, listening to previews of the score, tracking down secret promotional blogs and eating up any footage I could get my hands on. So you could say I’m a little excited for this movie.

Let me address the same issue I’ve seen brought up time and time again surrounding the making of this film: “Why are they remaking it so soon after the Swedish version?” Well, hold on a second, you’re already wrong. It’s not a remake. It’s another adaptation of the book, not a remake of Niels Arden Oplev’s 2009 film. I hope the difference here is easy to spot. As a fan of the Millenium series (I devoured all three in less than a month this summer), and as a fan of books in general I’m excited to see Dragon Tattoo, and hopefully the rest of the series, get another shot on the big screen.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against the incredible Noomi Rapace, who portrayed the series’ anti-heroine Lisbeth Salander in all 3 Swedish movies. And I also enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo overall (though the film versions of The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest are a whole other story). However, I think the Swedish film left out a lot of elements that were key to the heart of Larsson’s novel. And I think letting someone else (let alone the legendary DAVID FINCHER) take another shot at getting it right is awesome. Not to mention the possibility of getting some decent films out of the other two books in the series. So no, the reason for this version of Dragon Tattoo isn’t because “Americans are too lazy to read subtitles,” as I’ve seen dozens of people claim. It’s about giving this story another interpretation.

This teaser trailer, released in June, is what really got my blood pumping for this movie.

Moving on, I want to talk a little bit about the online promotion of this film. This summer, a tumblr called mouth-taped-shut began posting interesting photos and videos which were quickly identified as behind-the-scenes shots from Dragon Tattoo. While it wasn’t publicly stated, it became clear that mouthtapedshut was an underground promotional blog for the film. As someone who’s a big fan of Fincher’s work, I was understandably psyched about this. I co-run a blog about Fincher on tumblr called thatguywhodirectedfightclub, and one day in October I received this message:

Understandably, I freaked out and essentially ran around my room screaming my head off in excitement. A few days later I received a package in the mail:

Here’s a video mouthtapedshut posted of these limited-edition metal posters being made:

These posters were sent out to similar fan-blogs on tumblr, as well as members of the media. A pretty revolutionary way to promote your movie and give back to the fans at the same time.

I’ve had multiple people ask me what I’m going to do if Dragon Tattoo turns out to be bad. One friend even bet me lunch that I’ll end up dissatisfied by it. Honestly, with all the clips and promotional footage I’ve watched, including the 8-minute trailer released this month, I already know I’m going to love it. But we’ll know for sure tomorrow, because I’ve bought my tickets for the 7:00 p.m. screening.

Will you be joining me?

Comment

