LADY GAGA in Tulsa.

I wrote this blog at 2 in the morning last night after I drove back to Stillwater from seeing Lady GaGa at the BOK Center in Tulsa. I wanted to get down all my thoughts on the concert while they were still fresh in my mind.

I heard “Born This Way” when it came out last month, and honestly wasn’t too impressed by it. It’s a catchy song, don’t get me wrong, and the message behind it is awesome, I just wasn’t really too excited by it musically. However, I adore GaGa’s other music, and was really excited to see the show she would put on. Joe and I went together, and it was really fun to just people-watch before the show started. Everyone was dressed in really creative, off-the-wall outfits. Not that you should expect anything less from GaGa fans.

Joe and I in our seats.

Joe made friends with the women sitting behind us.

I think it’s safe to say we had some of the worst seats in the house.  Here is a helpful illustration I just drew in paint to show you how bad they were:

Our view of the stage.

But in reality, it didn’t matter. The show she put on was truly outstanding. I felt like I was watching Cirque de Soleil at some points rather than a concert. Well, Cirque de Soleil on cocaine, maybe. All of the sets and choreography were breathtaking. And her OUTFITS were amazing. I know people find her bizarre and don’t “get” her, but to me that isn’t even a factor. I just love to watch the bizarre things she comes up with and I appreciate her ability to put herself out there in a totally open way.

And the RAW TALENT she possesses is unreal. I honestly think she sounds better live than she does on her albums. There is no lip synching of any kind involved. She has PIPES. And I love that she changes up the arrangement of her songs to make them seem fresh and not something I’ve heard a dozen times. She did a stripped down version of “Born This Way” that I absolutely loved. And she played a song off of her upcoming album called “You and I” (see video) that might join “Speechless” and “Paper Gangster” as my all-time favorite GaGa songs.

Finally, and most importantly, she treats her fans with such love and affection that it’s impossible for me not to love her. She was constantly talking to and interacting with the audience. She graciously accepted a leather jacket a fan had made for her and wore it through several songs. She constantly encouraged the audience members to be themselves, and to be proud of who they are. At one point she mentioned that at 6 a.m. that morning she had finished shooting her newest music video and that she hadn’t slept in more than 48 hours. I was shocked by that, actually, because she performed with such passion and ferocity I’d have said she was operating at 100%.  And she performed for more than 2 hours, finishing it off with 2 encores (Bad Romance and Born This Way.)

Honestly, seeing GaGa in concert only multiplied my love for her and her music. I know she seems a little too out-there and self-indulgent sometimes, but honestly it doesn’t bother me. Her heart is in the right place, and can you really fault someone for expressing themselves, no matter how flamboyant that expression may be?

Recent photo I’m proud of:

I took this for a story on the old Stillwater HS football stadium.

Video I can’t stop watching: GaGa’s opener Semi Precious Weapons is a self-described “Filthy Glamor” rock band. They were totally fun and camp and I cannot get this song out of my head.

Song I can’t get out of my head: See video.

Something I can’t help but laugh at: If you don’t think this is funny I don’t think we can be friends.

Comment

