Electronic Communication: A Review

Well, things are wrapping up here in Stillwater. It’s dead week, and everyone’s walking around so stressed out that they’re not really paying attention to anything other than that uncomfortable nervous feeling in their stomachs that will refuse to go away until after their last final next week. I am definitely one of these wide-eyed, paranoid, butterflies-in-the-stomach zombies. Let’s just say I won’t be sorry to see this semester go. However, one class I will honestly miss is Electronic Communication.

Though I was a blogger before Electronic Communication began this semester, I wasn’t nearly as disciplined as I like to think I am now. The weekly assigned blogs kept me updating regularly, and gave me inspiration. So don’t think this blog is going anywhere now that the semester’s over. There are way too many YouTube videos to be shared, photos that I want feedback on and I just need an outlet for all the crazy stuff I have going on in my brain at any given time.

Electronic Communication gave me a chance to actually take part in a lot of the things I enjoyed listening to (podcasts – though I’m almost certain I’ll never be going into that field again. I just don’t think I’m cut out for podcasting) and watching. Assignments in elec. comm. have help familiarize me with programs I’d never used, like actual Photoshop and Adobe Fireworks. It also helped me to become more familiar with the Mac O.S., since I’m still a Windows user (and I don’t plan on making the change anytime soon. Sorry Apple junkies).

Finally, elec comm was just a fun class to go to twice a week. Jory’s class had a very laid-back feeling, and it was easy to just chime in with your opinion (or a semi-irrelevant smart-ass remark) without feeling intimidated or self-conscious. It was a great way to learn about how the industry is evolving. Plus, getting to watch YouTube videos for a week straight wasn’t too bad either.

Recent photo I’m proud of:

Kari’s a dachshund currently available for adoption at the Humane Society of Stillwater.

Song I can’t get out of my head: ‘Tongue Tied’ by Iwan Rheon, a.k.a. the gorgeous, hilarious, awkward welshman who plays ‘Simon’ on my new british television obsession, ‘Misfits‘ (Example of its brilliance here & here (language NSFW)) PLUS he sings? GUH.

Video I can’t stop watching: Alex Carpenter‘s “Top 5 ‘What the Hell, Harry Potter’ Moments of Deathly Hallows” are spot-on.

Something I can’t help but laugh at:


2 comments
  1. I love this post! This class was definitely one of the more useful ones we will take to prepare us for our futures as Media students and professionals. I look forward to seeing what you make of this blog once the semester is over.

    Also, I’m thinking we are going to need some Misfits watching parties soon. ;)

  2. bobbyc24 said:

    I agree the software we used in this class was helpful. I enjoyed the class like you. Have a great future.

Comment

