Confessions of a YouTube addict.

There. I’ve admitted it. I spend way too much time on YouTube. Most of the time, however, I’m watching vlogs and (possibly the most geeky thing in the world) comic-con panels. Every once in a while, however, I’ll find a golden viral video. My all-time favorite has got to be ‘Kittens inspired by Kittens.’

Seriously, what is not to love about this video? An adorable little girl demonstrating that kids say the darndest things? Check. Hilarious, bizarre, and very quotable catch-phrases? Check. And CATS?! Cats are the most vital viral-video element of all time. And this is full of them. Triple check!

This video is great because it’s genuine. You can tell that what she’s saying she’s actually made up herself, and it’s not put-on. It sounds exactly like something I would have said when I was her age. That makes people want to forward it around, and show it to everyone they know.  I mean, my best friend can literally quote this by heart. She burned the audio onto a mix we took on a road trip a couple of summers ago, and I still get text-messages from her when it’s raining that simply read: “RAINSTORM!!!”

The best part of this video is that it’s a gift that keeps on giving.  It’s inspired countless parodies, and below are my all-time favorites: “Chickens inspired by Chickens,” (warning: language NSFW)

and “Kittens inspired by Barack Obama,” which features the same video dubbed-over with portions of his self-narrated books-on-tape and speeches. I think I might enjoy it more than the original video.

Recent photo I’m proud of: It’s been abnormally beautiful outside this week, so I took advantage and brought a blanket out onto the lawn. I wasn’t the only one who decided to lounge around.

Song I can’t get out of my head: Okay, this one is completely true. I have probably listened to this song literally 35 times in the past 2 days. It’s Glee‘s a capella version of ‘Teenage Dream,’ which features Darren Criss, who I first discovered this summer in ‘A Very Potter Musical‘ and its sequel. When I found out he’d been cast on Glee I was ecstatic, and after watching him last week I want to see a lot more of him on the show, which was at its best of the season Tuesday.

Video I can’t stop watching: Seriously? I haven’t given you enough videos to watch in this post? Selfish. Seriously, go watch A Very Potter Musical. You won’t regret it.

Something I can’t help but laugh at: This trick play in a middle school football game. (There, I gave you another video. Happy?!)

 

3 comments
  1. llyon89 said:

    You are not the only one addicted to youtube videos (especially “Kittens inspired by kittens”) trust me. HILARIOUS!

  2. First of all I can’t stop listening to the Glee version of “Teenage Dream” either, even up to this day! I like it better than Katy Perry’s version! But Kittens inspired by kittens is a great video! Good choice!

Comment

