April 17, 2010

I know, I know, it’s been forever since I’ve blogged. I know all 8  of the people that follow this blog will be thrilled to see that I’m back!
One of the reasons I haven’t posted anything in awhile is simply because I haven’t had much going on lately outside of school. The last few weeks have all been filled with school and tests and assignments and stress, mostly because I’m such a horrible procrastinator.
Anyway, most of the stress has be relieved, temporarily at least, so I really didn’t have an excuse to not update recently. Still, I don’t have a real clear subject to blog on at the moment, so I’ll just hit on a couple things for now.
  • Greg came to see me a couple weeks ago while he was on his spring break. We went to lunch a Hideaway with Paige, got some ice cream (which is quickly becoming a tradition. We are ice cream obsessed. I think we got ice cream on 5 separate occasions over winter break), took a quick tour of campus, reminisced about Europe, went to see “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” (eh) and went to my first OSU baseball game. It was fun, and we won, so that was good. We actually didn’t stay for the entire game because it started raining, so we went to Joe’s and ate and discussed politics for a long time. it was a great visit.

  • My mom also came up to visit me later that week week, and it was good to see her after several weeks. We had a  long conversation, and just enjoyed each other’s company. I actually had Hideaway again after eating there with Greg, but I can never get sick of Hideaway, or at least the Stillwater incarnation.

  • Nothing much else has gone on that’s too notable. At least nothing comes to mind immediately. So I’m going to share a couple things that have entertained me online lately.
  • Hanson’s new music video, “Thinking ‘Bout Somethin'” just came out, and I love it. It’s a homage to the Blues Brothers, and it’s so peppy and spunky and it features DOWNTOWN TULSA, which is one of my favorite things in the world. Also, I LOVE the new single, and it gives me a lot of hope for they new album, because the last one wasn’t as good as I was hoping. This song has definitely got me anticipating “Shout It Out” in a very good way.
    • Newsy is an awesome news source Greg introduced me to. I actually access it on it’s IPod Touch/IPhone app, but the site is awesome as well. What I like about Newsy is that it includes multiple sources to give you, as the tagline says, “The Real Story.” Here’s on of my favorite stories.
    • In my film studies class we just watched a Bollywood film called “Om Shanti Om.” I have to say, I absolutely loved it. It was so entertaining, and though it’s 3 hours long, I wasn’t bored for a second of it. Factor in the time and the fact that there are subtitles and that is quite a feat! Honestly, I enjoyed this movie so much I bought it from Amazon, and am planning to show it to whomever I can convince to watch it with me. Here’s one of the musical numbers from the film.
    • I’ve plugged the show “Community” here before, but I just wanted to reaffirm how much I love this show. Personally, I think some of the funniest moments come at the very end of the show, with my personal favorites Danny Pudi, Donald Glover and Joel McHale.
    • Finally, I leave you with a huge “WTF?!” moment. I’m sure this clip has pretty much ruined Hank Johnson’s congressional career. And it should.
Comment

